Return to the North

By Viking

Rocky Mountain!

Was planning on doing the Rob Roy glacier walk today but after a lousy night I didn't really feel up to a full days walk (it advises it's 6 hours which usually means I have to add on at least 1 extra hour for being a lard ass) so instead I got the book out and found Diamond Lake.
It's a 10 minute walk to Diamond lake on the edge of Lake Wanaka and then you can walk for another couple of km to the big lake viewpoint or head in up further to Rocky mountain summit.
I did start on the summit walk but it started to get a bit hairy - very narrow footing and increasingly bigger step ups. I don't mind doing uphill at at but I was starting to worry about the 'coming down' as know 1) am a coward at coming down, 2) if I slip I will bugger my knee again. So after about 300m up the Rocky Mountain but I turned round and headed up to the viewpoint.
This was the vista from there!

I walked back down and round lake diamond at the bottom. All in all only 6km but elevation of 1900ft so not too bad (not convinced about that reading to be honest, think it was a wee bit lower than that!!)

There are se other shots here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.