Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

Collecting firewood.........

Headed off to Karonga this afternoon with my colleague - saw lots of children on the roads on the way and these boys were busy collecting firewood.

Where I was going in Karonga is about 3 1/2 hours north of Mzuzu. When I had gone about half way I came upon a road block, which is not unusual here. The guy asked me for my passport........I said I didn't carry my passport, I have been here for almost 20 years and have never been asked for my passport. He got quite angry and told me that he was from immigration and how was he to know whether I was in the country illegally or not. So.........I had to drive back to Mzuzu to get the passport as he would not let me pass. I was not happy as you can imagine, however I went back to get it (no option really!).

Coming back it was dark and it was another man at the road block - I asked to see the one who had sent me back but he refused to come and speak to me. I think he was embarressed.......so on Monday morning when I am back in Mzuzu, I am going to the main immigration office to complain..........

Reached Karonga very tired........but had a lovely welcome which made things a bit better!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.