Lake Ohau at dusk

At the end of a memorable day fishing on the Ohau Canal, I took a few minutes to walk up above the outlet to the Ohau Dam. My paternal Granddad served in WW1 and imagine he had no idea what sort of freedoms his granddaughter would experience.

It was a beautiful mauve dusk, fresh with a hint of winter to come.

We chased large magnificent Rainbow Trout that congregate below the Ohau Dam. They big and powerful. I hooked several and they gave me a run for my money. Sort of like Kahawhai on steroids.

While still in the hydo canal system, they're more like wild rive trout up here by the dam. If I'd managed to land one I don't know if I could have kept it.

We'll never know because I have lots of stories about the ones that got away ;-)

A very good day and my foot while a bit sore has stood up well.

Yesterday's Autumn in Fairlie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.