Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Banksia: No 2

Isn't nature amazing. I was intrigued myself this morning to browse through the numerous images I had taken of another species of Banksia that grow in abundance at Wombat Hollow.

Drum Roll Please.........Before I continue on with my journal HobbsRun and I have an exciting announcement to make. After very serious scrutineering we can announce that the winner of the THREE SISTERS CHALLENGE is Beckett and his wonderful entry taken just as the sun was rising . I phoned Beckett straight away and I have to say he sounded quite delighted. Mr Hobbs and I had to admit he certainly deserved it. Beckett lives at least an hour and a half away from Echo Point and would have had to get up at Sparrows you know what to be there in time to take this majestic image. As soon as Beckett advises us when he and Mrs Beckett can travel to Blackheath we will invite all blippers to meet us at the Wattle Cafe so we can celebrate in style! Thanks to everyone who voted and particularly those blippers who posted an entry.

Now back to the good old Banksia. The Banksia species were named after Sir Joseph Banks. I forgot to mention yesterday and thanks to my Big Brother Allan46 for reminding me of a small fact that we are related to Sir Joseph Banks as our Great Great Grandfather was in fact his nephew. Perhaps that why I love them so much.

Postscript: I have a very, very sad image to post on my blip folio. My poor old snow peas were assaulted in the worst possible way last night by a very, very naughty wombat who managed to find its way through my security fence! Looks like I'll have to buy a few more star pickets! Here's the grizzly results of last nights visit!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.