Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Monkey

A peaceful night. No accidents. Same for Archie!

A wee visit - literally - outside (the dog) about 2am - I woke him up to go, as I was at the bog anyway - then he cried after I popped him back to bed for what seemed like ages, but was probably only a few minutes. A bit of crying at 5.30am, and as he was shut in his crate, I got up and took him out. He wasn't desperate to wee anyway. I'll know better tomorrow morning.

He loves the grass, though I don’t want him using it as his toilet, but because my playpen/fencing hasn’t arrived yet, I can’t really keep him off it. He was Very Interested in the neighbour’s washing hanging about a foot from the ground. Till a gust of wind made it flap noisily and he nearly fell over with fright!

I'm sort of trapped in the kitchen - he dozes in his crate, with the (crate) door open and fenced off in a corner of the room, so that he can’t get into bother but I can wander in and out of the room. But he’s dozing a lot, with wee forays outside and running around (goes so fast he falls over).

And so I set to with a job I had hoped to avoid. The Big Thistle wallpaper has been successfully eliminated. And the colour, Timeless, was right. On the other wall were a couple of marks that needed painting over, but really didn’t matter too much. Despite my protests that it wasn’t necessary, JR climbed up and painted over them with the Timeless test pot…

Wrong colour! Very noticeable because they’re in full light, whereas the other wall, if it’s not quite the right colour, doesn’t show because of shadows and angles. Eeeek! There was nothing for it but to do the WHOLE wall as well. This necessitated big ladders and small ladders - one of them on the bench. I was Very Careful, I can tell you!

Of course, I forgot to change into my PJs before I started. My nice (well, my favourite) cardigan is now covered in white Timeless paint spray. With a nice white Timeless cuff. Bad words were uttered.

Even more Bad Words were uttered when, after I had packed away the ladders and cleaned up the paint stuff, I then noticed the other (Flying Ducks) wall had a few unwelcome daubs of the Wrong Colour on it! I had to get everything out again!!

This is Archie’s favourite toy, so far. He doesn’t know about balls. Yet. But this monkey has a plastic bottle inside it, and so crackles nicely. And when he’s had a good chew and is just sitting with it, it will crackle all by itself. We both love it.

Not getting around to comments at the mo, but thanks for all your comments and patience in the puppy saga. I did enjoy all the suggestions as to the next twist in the tale. Hope to catch up soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.