The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Bowood 2014 #7

I'd returned to Bowood because Wings And Talons were returning for the weekend with a static display, and bringing some new birds including a buzzard and a barn owl. When I arrived, though, they were packing up for the day as they had to fly the birds elsewhere, so I ascertained when they would be there the next day and continued through the grounds down to the lake, looking at the bluebells that were out in profusion.

At the side of the lake were a couple of Canada geese and two male swans that were sitting on the grass nearby to the bench overlooking the lake that I was making for. After I had settled there one of them waddled over to me, and gazed towards the lake, raising his neck upwards and making a sort of crackling noise, and then moved on, settling in front of me and slightly to my left. Then the other swan also came right up to where I was sitting and looked expectantly at my camera bag.

I continued with my writing, and several passers by remarked at how close the swan was. One family said that their little girl had recently been bitten by a swan, but when I sympathized that this would make one cautious, the girl said "I'm not bothered". My A5 journal fell from my lap, landing at the webbed foot of the swan, and as I reached down to retrieve it I did wonder if I would get pecked at, but the swan remained placid and I continued with my writing in his company without incident.

I know I have blipped swans often before, but this interaction was what I most remember of the day, and I had after all gone there to photograph birds, so this splendid pair had to provide my blip, seen here when the first swan had come up to me.

L.
8.5.2014 (1342 hr)

Blip #1247
Consecutive Blip #109
Day #1486

Alternatives:
Magnolias
Great Crested Grebe
Swans
Bowood Lake From My Bench Seat

Lenses: Pentax 17-70mm, Sigma 70-300mm

Bowood 2013 series
Bowood 2014 series
Bowood series
Bowood 2013-2014 (Flickr collection)(Work in progress)
Outdoor Places I Have Sat In series
Swan series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Everly Brothers - Lay It Down (1972)
From the album Pass The Chicken And Listen. A version of this song by the Trembling Bells with Bonnie Prince Billy was recorded especially for Record Store Day.

One year ago: Smokey 1904 hr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.