Reflections & Shadows...

Bus ride to the seaside, today, a squally and blowy event, that soon took me to the comparative shelter of Boscombe Pier.

Unlike the grandeur and popularity of its bigger sister, Bournemouth Pier, a mile down the coast, Boscombe's is a short, stubby concrete affair that hosts mainly a few fishermen down the far end.

So, even on a Saturday, it was largely deserted. Great!! Not too long after, the Samyang fisheye weedled its way onto the camera....and:

After some interesting angles and compositions, I saw this couple and their shadow. Too good to miss and not enough time to change lenses, I tried to include them in the composition. I had them in them in the centre of the picture one frame before this one.

Then, as I had lined this one up, I heard this trundling sound, which increased in volume. A mixture of unease and anticipation, I hung on in there and as I expected, what it was soon trundled into the corner of the frame. I timed it just right!

The boy's reflection is from the glass/perpsex? panel, yet he is just next to a gap where people can walk through to the other side of the pier. Somehow, his shadow is bounced off and onto the bin!

LARGE

I knew pretty well at the time that I had something a bit special 'in the can', so got the next bus home and ran it through as a black and white conversion.

Hope everyone is having a GREAT weekend!

Lens is Samyang 8mm f3.5

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.