Plus ça change...

By SooB

Starter for Two

'Lazy' is almost too active a word to describe today.

A late morning stroll around the market was as energetic as it got, once my plans of weeding the garden were scuppered by the possibility of sitting on the terrace with Mr B and a never-ending stream of food and beverages. This, in case you are wondering about Mr B's empty plate and glass opposite, was my second plate of fois gras pâté on fig bread toast, washed down with a local sweet wine. Stir fried duck and noodles to come and, rather delightfully, I'm off kitchen duty tonight.

Something from yesterday I forgot to record: female pilots came up somehow in conversation with CarbBoy and gave me cause to check that he understood that there is no gender distinction in piloting ability. He looked at me like I was mad. "Of course women can be pilots. Like in James Bond." The thought of Pussy Galore being a feminist icon to my son is amusing, but in this traditional gendered house I'll take all the icons I can get.

That memory has prompted us to spend our evening in the company of the next Bond movie - On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Prepare for tears....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.