horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Speed Demons

A little trip down to the outskirts of Berwick to take some photos of greyhounds which are co-owned by a friend of mine, housed with a friend of his. Bit torn on this after being asked if I could take some photos for their website - having not too long ago had a greyhound sanctuary person at the house with a retired racer I'm only too aware of what some of the dogs can go through, and the fact that there are simply LOADS who become homeless when their racing careers are over.

But I went to have a look at the setup, which is frankly astounding, and every one of the seven dogs they have at the moment was a sporadically swift bundle of fun and energy. I helped with the morning walking, spoke about the facilities they have, and allayed a lot of fears. At least as far as these pups go I know they're going to be well looked after. Just the rest of the racing greyhounds out there to worry about now...

Of course it did nothing to help stop those 'want a dog' feelings, although the hiss the cat gave me when I got home and gave him my hand to sniff stopped that dead in its tracks again! Although that may have been because I'd stuffed him in a box to go to the vet first thing before heading south, going through the semi-regular ordeal of blood checks that go with being old and diabetic.

Anyway, picked up my mum from Berwick, she'd been down visiting my niece in Coldstream, before heading home for a few chores, and dinner at the Old Penang for the first time in a while. Which was, as ever, excellent.

Oh, and spotted a slightly odd sign in Boots (which is the closest I think we'll come to a rant today after today's canine introspection) which stated that "This store is protected by security tagging." Surely it's the store's contents that are so-protected? Unless they have genuine fears that someone will try to make off with the entire building...

Today's shot might not have been the most technically brilliant, but I just loved the expression. Other choices could have been:

Gallop!
Noses...
All Ears
Elegance

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.