Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

A little in love.....

The sun made for gentle awakenings, soft light caressing the corners of the ceiling. My lovely wife asleep beside me, my mind rested, I decided that I would get up and cycle to work. It's only 20 miles and apart from a section in the middle that's on a major road it's a nice route. Out into the beautiful fresh morning air...6:05am and I felt wonderful.

The view across the fen was misty and quiet. The road was equally restful with little traffic and those that did come by gave me plenty of room. The land smelt good, real, reminders of my youth coming thick and fast. A tractor made heavy lines in the field next to the road, the sound so familiar.

The miles passed and I headed off the road and onto the river side, the still water glass like and reflecting the sky so perfectly. The ease of turning the peddles felt good and the joy of it all, the sky, the river, the air, how my body felt and just how bloody lovely it all was had me grinning the whole way.

I passed the odd person now, getting closer to town, people smiled as I said "good morning!". The wheels made a gentle crunching sound on the hard packed surface and the smell of the fields filled my nostrils, my senses captivated by all around me. This was a great way to start the day!

In town now and I was sad that it was all over....I peddled on for a while taking the longer route around to the coffee shop. Others were now out enjoying the lovely day.

I was left smiling by the ride, by the day and I realised that I was a little in love with this day.....and why not? It's good to be in love with your life...right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.