Bat your lashes

Another lovely sunny and warm day today but it was quite windy so it was chilly in the shade. I went for a wander - just to get some exercise.

Walked down to the village and passed this tiny little establishment. The Lash Salon. I assume it does eyelash extensions - although I'm not sure of the finer points of what that entails.

I have known this little shop in various guises. As a 6 year old I would go with my Mam to this shop when it sold coal. I remember the counter having a few big lumps of coal on it so you could choose what you wanted. My Mam would put an order in and a few days later the " coal man " would call at our house. We used to have a coal bunker and the coal would be tipped out of the bags into it.

Many years later when the coal shop closed the premises became a sweetie shop. As its near the Primary School I assume it did a roaring trade when it was home time but probably not during school hours. When the sweet shop closed the building was empty for quite a while until this Lash Salon opened.

When I got home I sat outside in the cat enclosure and ate my lunch. First time this year its been nice enough to sit out. Then I watched some of the Cup Final. I was rooting for the underdogs - Hull. Shame they couldn't quite do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.