Ponteland

Weather was lovely again today so I decided to take a little trip out. Bus to Newcastle then another bus to Ponteland.

Ponteland is a village in Northumberland - - 8 miles from Newcastle. It gets its name from the River Pont which runs through it. Even though my late husband Douglas used to live in Ponteland before we got married I have never been there.

There isn't too much of interest in the village but its a pleasant place. Here is The Diamond public house - it was established in the early 1700's as an old coaching Inn. I sat down on a bench near the river to have a snack and a cold drink and then took my blip shot. Went into Waitrose for some cat food. The branch in Newcastle city centre always seems to run out of Tino's favourite food - luckily the Ponteland branch had plenty.

Bus back to Newcastle and shopping in Tesco and Wilkinsons before catching another bus home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.