WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Horses for courses

This morning I set off for a walk in Matlock with the dog. It was a beautiful morning but I aborted the route a mile into it. It just didn't feel right and wasn't what I was hoping for.

I'm sure Matlock has some beautiful walks and this could have been one of them but it wasn't right for me today. Looking forward to open spaces, I was a little disappointed with enclosed shrubland, particularly on my own. So I turned round and headed for Baslow.

Here I found what I was looking for. Starting off in Baslow village, I walked along Baslow, Curbar and Froggatt Edge. I then headed down into the valley and meandered back along the river. It was the most stunning day. Near the end of my walk, these horses were happily munching grass in the sunshine. You can see the rocky outcrops of Baslow Edge on the horizon line where my walk began.

I stopped off at mum and dad's on the way home for an enjoyable cuppa and natter in the back garden before heading home and finishing off the evening with Rich and a Thai takeaway.

Today, combined with yesterday's adventure, has left my arms aching, Rich's elbows trashed and Little Dog exhausted! I class that as a fine weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.