wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Play me a tune

I am a day behind so you will have to bear with me while I do two.
The inside of a piano is a cool thing. The inside of a grand piano (Steinway) is a wicked cool thing! Our accompanist Deana played this for our concert this weekend. It is amazing to me how something that looks so odd can make such beautiful music and that it did! Deana is a fantastic musician and the best pianist I have ever met. I am humbled by her talent.

The second concert of the weekend was yesterday. We have a rest until September. (Except a group of us going to the Sister Singers festival in July.)
My husband and father came to the concert yesterday. This is the first time in about 15 years I have let them . they have come. I was actually nervous. I sing first soprano and it is high. Wicked high. Donal is not a fan of the high music. Bach doesn't thrill him either. However he enjoyed this concert. Dad was proud and got to meet some of my friends of 20 years . That was very nice.
We hung posters made of maps with license plates attached to them up on the columns in place of the banners we usually hang. They really looked great. (The theme was on the road) and.........you may be ahead of me here...they fell. One after another through the concert. We almost took two people out. Thank God we didn't. Can you imagine going to the emergency room and saying: "yeah I was knocked out by New Jersey. "?
Oh no that didn't break my concentration. When you are nervous it is hard not to turn that to the giggles. Nope not me!

My band has a rest for a week but we are doing some recording next Saturday. I can't wait. It will be fun. I thought I would bring cupcakes however I was traumatized by them as a seventh grader.
You see I belonged to a group of students. Probably misfits. Some were popular, some not, but we were smart so who cared.
The name of our club (yes we were recognized and made it into the yearbook) was......you ready for this?
The Rigor Mortis Society for the Preservation of the Lively Arts. Seriously. We had a blast. Well we had a bake sale. (Big over here for fund raising,) and in a box were " surprise cupcakes" .......Yeah I am going there.
They were beautiful. They also were baked with oysters on the middle in them. They were sold mostly to this irritating group of jocks. One of them yelled :
" Hey there is a booger on my cupcake ". It was awesome. Anyway I have never trusted one since.

Oh and a fellow member James Foster Woodman was a tremendous musician who later in life became a composer. He was my first real crush. And..... He played piano. See it all comes around.
Time to do the next one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.