Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Walk on by

The first thing I did this morning was to go and vote in my local elections and the Euro elections.

I know that these elections have a low turn out generally, but I was expecting more representation if only to keep UKIP out.

Walking into my polling station, the first thing I noticed was that instead of 20 or so booths, there was a paltry 4. The second thing was the sheer number of ultra right wing candidates standing for the European election. We're not just talking UKIP, BNP and English Defence League, there are other, smaller fringe right groups making an appearance.

I felt like taking this guy by the hand and leading him into the polling booth. So many people think that their little vote won't count, but apathy is the road to hell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.