2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Evening sun

The heavy rain overnight woke me up several times as it hit the hotel room window. Apparently over 2 inches of rain fell during the night and in the early hours of the morning and it was still raining when I left early so that I could get a scarce taxi. The taxi driver had had some scary encounters during his morning as there were some flash floods and lots of 'ponding' on the roads.

Enjoyed the second day of the meeting - lots of discussions and note taking.

Walked back to the hotel though downtown Washington and back to Georgetown. The river was very high and churning with all the rainwater. After an hour sitting in the air conditioned room with some free rum punch from the hotel reception, I headed out across the road to a small cemetery. There were interesting old graves and a great view of the Washington monument from the hill.

Had some food in a noodle chain - I've used them before and they are ideal for solitary diners. Pudding was some frozen yoghurt eaten on the way back to the hotel.

Hoping the sun will shine tomorrow for my free morning before the flight home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.