Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Now Where Are My Skis?

Before the Younger Daughter went to Edinburgh as a student 7 years ago I had only had a couple of holidays over the border in Scotland, memorably ski holidays in Glenshee.

They say you only remember the good times, but they didn't mean Glenshee in February! I would be kidding myself if I thought I skied in Alpine conditions like we have today.

I remember particularly 1980!
I remember needing the brolly 'cause the ceiling leaked above the toilet!
I remember horizontal rain!
I remember loosing sight of my group in the blizzard!
I remember The Man's moustache with icicles on it!

The funniest thing happened the following year when I was sharing a T-bar with a well wrapped-up guy, not even recognisable through his goggles. It turned out as we chatted on our way up the tow that we had sat together at dinner only the previous month in the Pyrenees. He also knew a man we worked with and lived near. Coincidence!

This shot was taken from the A702 heading towards Edinburgh. Did I pack my skis? No, but I do have my family IKEA card! Could be fun?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.