WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Curve

We were in need of a quiet day at home today, with boring tasks like washing on the cards. After yesterday's glorious weather, today was mixed -- I got the washing dry just before it rained, then it cleared up enough for me to pop out for a quick bliphunt. This is a spot I can safely say I've never blipped before; the curves caught my eye.

As I'm typing this we are watching the horribly depressing electoral news on French TV. I am embarrassed for my adopted country, which boasts of being the home of human rights. That revolting old fascist Jean-Marie le Pen has tripled his score in the south-east, and his daughter has romped to victory in the north-west. Even in our traditionally left-wing area, the Front National is in the lead. Cue cock-a-hoop FN spokespeople saying that France is "leading the world" and "setting an example". I'm trying to find comfort in the fact that even if there is talk of a right-wing "landslide", 75% of French voters did not vote for the Front National.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.