D'aicí enfòra

By chaiselongue

Objets on a grey day

I seem to be living in the only part of western Europe where there isn't any snow today. It's drizzling here and too cold and miserable to go out so it was a chance to play indoors with my Gorillapod (one of my Christmas presents).

This is a collection of objets on a shelf in my study, so I've been seeing a lot of them this week as I've been working quite hard. The mirror has a papier-maché frame and was made for me by my mother. The lustre-ware jug belonged to my great-grandmother in south Wales, my daughter made the pottery box with the Welsh knot inspired design and gave it to me for my birthday years ago, there are two small Indian boxes, the white one my mother brought back from India and the green one was given to me by my son. The old man figure is a seal, designed for my mother when she was in China, which she used to sign some of her pictures, and the printing block was brought back from India, again by my mother who was an iindigo dyer and textile artist. So there's a lot of family sentiment and history in this photo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.