The Kiltwalk

By thekiltwalk

A Kiltwalk Spectator or a Kiltwalk Inspiration?

I love this picture. I love it because Isla Simpson, the girl in the picture is clearly a million miles away, wrapped up in her own thoughts while she cheers and claps Kiltwalkers over the finish line at the end of the Edinburgh Kiltwalk, and totally unaware the picture was being taken.

I love this picture because 5 year old Isla was not only a spectator at Edinburgh, she is also now a "Kiltwalker" as she took part in the Edinburgh Wee Walk with her Mum and Dad, Uncle and other Logan’s Fund Team Members, and she loved every minute of it.

I love this picture because Isla, is one of Oor Inspirational Kiltwalk Kids who was taking part in The Kiltwalk to help some of the wonderful Scottish Children’s Charities that helped her and supported her family.

Why? Well Isla has just passed her five year remission period from Neuroblastoma which was diagnosed when she was only five months old.

It’s not been an easy journey, but it’s a journey that makes Sam and Ross, Isla’s Mum and Dad who have Kiltwalked for several years, appreciate not only how precious Isla is, but how precious life itself is.

Isla is a remarkable little girl, who thankfully is getting back to being just that. An ordinary little girl and one who, as you’ll read below, pulled on her walking boots, Kiltwalk T-Shirt and took part in what was her first, but not last Kiltwalk.

What follows is something I’d urge you to read as it’s Sam’s account of the Glasgow and Edinburgh Kiltwalks where she talks of the courage it takes to walk past Yorkhill, which still holds contrasting memories along with stories of other people she met during the Kiltwalks. For me, her blog says more than I ever could and more or less sums up The Kiltwalk and Kiltwalk Day perfectly.

I’ve nicked Sam’s blog content, however you can see some wonderful pictures of Isla as she took part in her first Kiltwalk here Sam's Jam Blog

“Yesterday, we took part in our second Kiltwalk of the year. The first Kiltwalk was in Glasgow on 21st April, and yesterday we were in Edinburgh to do it again!

We knew after doing the full walk at Glasgow last year, that we definitely wanted to do it all again, with one change, having the day after, off work. Luckily I'm working part-time this year, so it was possible to swap days. This had the added benefit of being able to join in with the Kiltwalk after party!

Although keen to do the Glasgow Kiltwalk, there was one thing worrying me - a repeat panic attack. Last year, I'd been hit by strong emotions walking through the grounds of Yorkhill hospital. I had been caught unaware with my feelings, and I believe this resulted in me having a panic attack later in the walk. In the lead up to the Glasgow Kiltwalk this year, I'd been reflecting on Isla's diagnosis. It's the anniversary of her admission to hospital on the 15th of April, and I just can't avoid thinking about it. I don't think it would do me any good to avoid it, it just makes me a little 'out of sorts' for a while. The reflection is also a good thing, as it is a constant reminder to cherish my children each and every day. I also think of all the friends who have lost their lives, the families on their journeys with childhood cancer and the newly diagnosed. I truly do know how lucky I am, especially as Isla has reached 5 year survival.

I knew the route for the Glasgow Kiltwalk had changed this year, but I hadn't paid any attention to the new route, my philosophy is to just turn up and get on with it! This year the Glasgow Kiltwalk started at the Hydro, and then headed to Yorkhill. Just before we got to Yorkhill, I got the biggest surprise ever, when one of the children's pictures that you see to inspire you on you on your walk was 'Oor Isla' looking happy in the photo for her first day of school, with the word 'Inspire' written at the bottom. I was so delighted to see her face (so was Ross), that the approach to Yorkhill was a happy one. Also, there was an added bonus of just walking around the back of the hospital so I didn't have to look up at those windows of Schiehallion ward. Oor Inspiration truly did spur us on our walk, no negative emotions felt this time at all. The negative emotion associated with Yorkhill has absolutely nothing to do with the care Isla received there. It was absolutely brilliant, without their close care and dedication Isla wouldn't be with us today. She really was seriously ill, and we came very close to losing her, that's why it's difficult to be there, it's a reminder of those scary times. Just look at her now!
Once again this year, we are walking as part of a team supporting Logan's Fund - Logan's Tartan Turtle Army, a wee change to the name as Logan loved turtles! Also walking on the Glasgow Kiltwalk with our team was my family - my 71 year old dad, my brother Richard, my 15 year old daughter Cerys and friends - Cameron Mackintosh and Jock Mckay. We all walked the full walk of 23 miles. Also walking for Logan's Fund was Senga Harrison (a new friend), and hopefully we managed to recruit 2 new members to our team for next year in the form of Chris Finlay (Jock's mate) and Grace Hilling (Senga's mate). We all partied like a team at the end of the walk.

Since we've been taking part in the Kiltwalk's we've gotten to know other regulars, commonly known as the Kiltwalk family. Just like any family, there are cousins I haven't yet met but have heard of. This Kiltwalk family have become a great support to each other, one I'm so grateful to be part of. It's a great feeling to come across your friends along the walk, you get a blether for a while as you walk together, you get to hear stories to motivate you to do your bit, and at the end you get to have a wee moan about your sore bits, or share a drink and a dance with. You also get the feeling that many of these people are facing their own personal struggles, that these walks are tough, and not just physically for them. You're all the same, but putting 'oor bairns' first. I really do love that about the Kiltwalker's. They are a special breed, when they find out one of their own is struggling, they'll go back after completing their walk to walk with that person. Last week, John Grigor was spotted doing a solo Kiltwalk in Edinburgh. It turns out John was determined to do all 5, but was away when the Edinburgh Kiltwalk was on, so decided to do it the week before, that was just a week after Glasgow. Some of the Kiltwalk family turned up to walk with John and give him a heroes welcome at the end.

Yesterday was the Kiltwalk in Edinburgh, there was my husband Ross, my eldest daughter Becky, my brother Richard, my youngest daughter Isla and myself. Also, part of our group was Cameron Mackintosh, Jock McKay and Senga Harrison.

I've divided us into two groups, as Cameron, Jock and Senga were brave (daft!) enough to walk a full Kilt of over 26 miles, and we just did the Wee Walk of over 6 miles. Doing the Edinburgh Walk was a last minute decision. Jock had decided earlier on in the year that he was planning to do all five, and to me it didn't feel right that he would be on his own, he is, after all part of a team. Isla was also keen to get in on the act, hearing us talk about it, so we signed up for the Wee Walk that Isla is allowed to take part in.

I wasn't sure exactly how Isla would feel, as she was overwhelmed with the crowd last year in Buckie at the start of the Speyside Kiltwalk. Isla was really keen yesterday until it came to everyone gathering together for the start of the walk, I could see her getting anxious, so we ended up standing off to one side. When the piper started to lead us off Isla quickly moved up to the front away from the crowd. Isla made me laugh with her comment of 'there was no pipe band'! The Speyside start left a bigger impression than I thought.

As we started walking, Isla did have a moan about how her feet and legs were sore, we reassured her that this was no race, we would go as slow as she liked and take as many stops as she liked. This seemed to be all the motivation she needed, as she didn't moan again for the rest of her walk.

Ross got talking to a couple who were walking beside us with their daughter Hannah, and Ross introduced them as they were also walking for a Neuroblastoma charity. I ended up walking and talking with the woman for quite some time, to discover that she was originally from Elgin, that her friend lives in Keith, who my brother knows and she was also a teacher! Small world. They had had a difficult time with their own daughter in her first year of life spending most of it in hospital, but had decided to walk in support of her friend whose son was diagnosed with Neuroblastoma last April and was currently in the U.S. receiving treatment.

I'd realised with my talking I'd moved away from Ross, Richard and Isla, so waited with Becky for them to catch us up. We had also reached the half way point. Isla was taking the walk in her stride with a big smile on her face.

Becky was beginning to struggle at this point. Walking a distance hasn't been easy for Becky in recent years. Becky is double jointed (hypermobile, she likes to dislocate joints!) and she walks with her knees close together and ankles apart, this puts pressure on her knees, ankles and balls of her feet. We had another little stop to put some moleskin on Becky's feet as she felt they were starting to blister. Isla wouldn't stop with Becky, as she was in her stride, so Richard carried on with her. We all met up again and carried on with our walk. Isla was enjoying the scenery, watching the other families.

Isla was excited when she seen the 1 mile to go marker, but the delight at seeing her own picture was priceless. I'm sure she walked faster after that!

I love seeing the pictures of all the bairns, especially at the end, it's the final motivation and reminder to keep going. I also want to be able to identify all the kids from reading the Kiltwalk blipfoto's. Sometimes I struggle with my emotions after reading the Blipfoto stories, but they're an effective motivator to keep on doing what you can to help. If you have something to give, then you should. We're surrounded by reminders of how lucky we are to be healthy and able from news stories. Last week, there were the stories of Stephen Sutton's battle, the loss of life for Alfie Sharpe and Oscar Knox - 2 Neuroblastoma warriors. Just reading the Blipfoto of Aine the night before the Kiltwalk had me emotional again! There are constant reminders to treasure each day.

Isla loved her first experience of the Kiltwalk, cheering on others finishing, getting something to eat at the end, having a dance in the marquee. She immediately wanted to know when she could do it all again. I explained she was doing the Wee Walk in September, but that Mummy and Daddy were going to be doing Aberdeen in 3 weeks time. I explained the Wee Walk at Aberdeen was a little bit longer with a hill, but she wants to do it and signed up today!”


If you see Isla tomorrow, give her a smile and I'm sure she'll beam right back at you.

If you want to sponsor Isla's efforts you can do so here:

Sponsor Isla

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.