Sea Urchin

By seaurchin

Today has felt a little strange. I know we should be be back into some kind of routine, but with the schools still closed and so much snow, we stay cocooned at home. I should have returned to college, but daren't risk the roads as they are still covered in snow and I haven't driven since my back began to hurt. I know that things are stressful at college too - with new projects and an unsupportive tutor - and I need to distance myself from that as much as possible.

We walked in the woods close to the cottage and it was beautiful. I found it hard going as the snow was so deep and the effort to keep up with the girls pulled on my back. Brammle managed to catch a small deer which was upsetting until we realised he just wanted to play and was jumping up with excitement. The deer couldn't escape him as the snow made it difficult for it to bound away. In the end we managed to catch doggo and the deer went deeper into the woods.

I had another session with Lucy working on my back. Poor Nick had to dig the car out again and it took ages before we got onto the road. When we got to the turning in Gifford the car couldn't stop and we slid down the hill. I walked the rest of the way and Lucy worked her magic. She is very instinctive and something is shifting - in a very good way. By the time I got home it was minus ten and freezing.

I had promised Murron we would make biscuits, so on my return we baked plain and chocolate chip cookies. Murron decorated the plain ones with icing and hundreds and thousands and a fair few were consumed as the afternoon became evening. Nick made Banoffie Pie too, which always goes down a treat :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.