Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Secret Water Garden

Some years ago I left a plastic tub with a little soil in it in a corner under the hedge. A long time later I noticed that it had water in it and meant to do something about it, but forgot. Much later I discovered that the water was clear and there were small water plants growing in it. Over the years I have kept a watch on it. There have never been the wriggly larvae that will appear in a puddle if they get the chance. The only visible creatures are the tiny crustacean, Daphnia. Sometimes, after a gale, I need to clear the debris from the surface, but otherwise the water remains crystal clear. There are at least two small water plants under water, and moss and liverwort at the edges above the water.

This tiny pond seems miraculous to me. In this dry environment where did the water plants come from? How did the Daphnia get there? Why is the water always clear? And why don't the mosquitoes bother with it?

My blip yesterday may have misled some people. I intended it to be a tribute to those who have supported me through my sleep problems. Tookie had it right. Anyway, last night I had my best night's sleep for several weeks, due mostly to a suggestion made by Samiam. Today I've had a spring in my step and a positive outlook. Thank you everyone who showed concern.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.