The Supervisor

"Supervisors serve as the keepers of the faith and the mentors of the young. Theirs is a quiet profession that combines the discipline of science with the aesthetic creativity of art."
- Alonso, "The Quiet Profession"

The weather is starting to get warm and summery here, so I decided it was high time to get out some summer clothes and put away the winter ones. It's June first - surely I won't be needing turtlenecks and wool sweaters and snow boots anytime soon, right? And so I got right into it - I opened up the middle bedroom where most of my clothes are stored, and I started moving boxes around, putting things away, getting things out.

I had good help, of course, as you might expect. It's a poor job that can't afford a decent supervisor, and Dexter the Tabby stepped forward to take on the challenges of that office. His personal opinion is that being able to see what's going on is most critical to the task. And so he immediately climbed to the top of the very highest box (a box of pink sweaters, to be specific), almost touching the ceiling.

From there he kept a close eye on me as I went about my work. He watched a while and then dropped his head onto one clean white paw in a rather pensive pose, perhaps dreaming up ways (as supervisors do) for me to speed up or improve my productivity at these tasks. Quality improvement, at work!

The song to accompany this supervisory look is Dolly Parton, with Nine to Five, from the film of the same name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.