Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Swan v gull

I went to Blackford Pond after work today - the weather had got better as the day went on and it was a beautiful evening. I checked up on all the baby birds I've been following and all were still present and correct. I don't know yet how many there are in the second brood of coots but at least I didn't see one of them being eaten by a herring gull this evening.

Instead there was action of another sort in the shape of a fight between the swans and a herring gull. I'm not sure what this particular gull had done to offend, but it was set upon by both of the swans. I think it was maybe something the swans did to show that they rule the pond and are to be deferred to. I don't know what the outcome of this fight was - the gull was clearly in bad shape and may even have been killed. For a while all the herring gulls left the pond, but they did reappear after a while, when there was bread on offer.

Go large for more aggro.

Need to back-blip for the last two days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.