If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Red Deer Hinds.

First let me say thank you to all those who took the trouble to comment on my 200th yesterday. I will pop along to your blips and thank you personally.

The morning was taken up by going to view a property which may open a new business opportunity for Clickychick. Well the viewing didn't take that long it was the sitting drinking tea and discussing possibilities and pros and cons which took up the time after we had viewed.

CC was busy taking her Mum shopping in the afternoon and then out for the evening. As the weather was so beautiful I decided to have a run round some of the less frequented roads of the area looking for blips. I had a successful trip and got some good shots.

But I am not going to show you them! As I was on my way home I glanced into a field and saw Red Deer. I quickly found a place to stop without blocking the road. Not as easy as it sounds round here. A careful walk back up the road to find a gap in the hedge through which I could try for a shot. I managed two shots and this I considered best.

I only got the two shots as they soon became aware of me and moved off. Still it was a blip out of the ordinary for me. However I feel it only fair to let you know these are farmed deer not wild, but they aren't usually in fields beside the road. They are still surprisingly flighty and moved rapidly away once they saw me. The shots were made more difficult because I had yo navigate a wet rough road verge, and shoot through a gap in the hedge which had a 7 foot high deer fence and the usual height fence as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.