Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Kestrel Chick

It seemed right to get a little closer to the little Kestrel chick. It's now hopping around all the branches of the old Oak tree. Mum and Dad are super protective now and there always seems to be one parent or another close by.

That's the good news. The bad is I've had another visit from Charlie aka the fox. Two very dead chickens this morning and I'm not happy. The pair were stunningly handsome, the cockerel was enormous. They were living together in the yard behind the house and away from the others as the cockerels were fighting and the outcome wouldn't have been a happy one had I left them together. I shut them in last night and I had that dreaded feeling when there were no sounds from their enclosure this morning. Foxy had thought to rip the wire from the door.

I worked off my rage by digging out a piece of garden. Plunging a fork deep into the ground together with the physical effort required to remove old roots and turn the soil, was not quite the satisfaction I'd have had if I could put my hands around the foxes neck, but therapeutic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.