No Static

By nostatic

Calmness Personified

Is it wrong to favour prosecco over champagne? Not that I drink anymore, but that's beside the point.

I wish the keep calm meme would hurry up and disappear.

More importantly we've reached 1993 in my musical journey and that can only mean featuring Suede as this was the year they burst (flounced?) onto the scene. The only time I've ever turned up at a sold out gig was Suede at The Venue in 93 and what a great move that was. Me and my mates were sat outside when Simon Gilbert popped out and said it's freezing out here lads come inside for a bit. So we wandered in and he introduced us to the rest of the band who were only too happy to chat away. After the band left we stayed in the venue to watch The Auteurs sound checking before the bouncers chucked us out. Thankfully we all managed to score face value tickets outside and witnessed an astonishing gig, with Bernard stomping and shaking whilst Brett was in his nylon shirt wearing pomp. One of those genuine I was there at the start of something moments.

So what tune to pick? I'm going to choose a b-side because Suede were one of those bands where the whole ep mattered. I loved The Drowners, but the b-side To the Birds was even better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.