delphinium

These are notoriously hard to grow here in our wet climate where slugs and snails thrive. They are a slug's favourite food. I didnt grow them for a long time, but love them so tried again and again and had some success two years ago when I grew two in big pots and planted them out only when they were large plants. They flowered and died back and I thought that would be the last I saw of them, like so many before them.
Then a homeopathic practitioner of my acquaintance gave me a spray bottle full of some homeopathic ant-slug preparation to trial. I was deeply sceptical, scathing even -it apparently consists of the essence of predator snail and slugs and snails avoid it. I didnt believe it but set out to try anyway. Mainly I tried it on my two delphinium plants, also on some vegetable plants. I also experimented with applying it directly to slugs and snails, with no discernable effect.
But the delphiniums did sprout new uneaten growth and flowered again last year. I didnt expect to see them again. It's when the first new growth emerges that they get eaten, normally. But not this time. Again they came back this year, bigger and better than ever. I have two huge healthy thriving delphinium plants with six or seven flowering stems each.
And they were only ever sprayed the once.
Other delphiniums I had in the meantime planted here and in Baltimore all succumbed to slug damage.
Co-incidence?

Feeling slightly better today, doing a lot of lying in the sun. I'm getting a great tan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.