My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

I Couldn't Resist It........

......... There have been a lot of poppies blipped recently but never mind - when I saw this one newly opened, I really couldn't resist! For one thing it is a double, whereas the others seem to be singles and it's colour and form really are lovely!

A real mixed bag of BOUI today:-

1) 1631 - Mumtaz Mahal dies during childbirth. Her husband, Mughal emperor Shah Jahan I, then spends more than 20 years building her tomb, the Taj Mahal.

2) 1837 - Charles Goodyear obtains his 1st rubber patent - Goodyear tyres still being sold today.

3) 1839 - In the Kingdom of Hawaii, Kamehameha III issues the Edict of toleration which gives Roman Catholics the freedom to worship in the Hawaiian Islands.
(I mention this because Anni and I will be there this time next week!! - :-)) )

4) 1943 - Barry Manilow was born in New York City - American singer/pianist (Mandy, I Write the Songs)

5) 1954 - Rocky Marciano beats Ezzard Charles in 15 for heavyweight boxing title.

and finally, if it is your Birthday - you should embrace:

Forgiveness, a joyous heart, attention to detail and avoid:

Flights of fancy, irresponsibility, ingratitude.

But whatever, you should enjoy it!!!

Bright sunny morning - quite a lot of white clouds - Temperature 58 Deg.F.

Enjoy your day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.