How the light gets in

By sarahkerr

The Empty Bench

Things have gotten worse for Granddad in the last 24 hours. He's only had one kidney since WWII, and after 70 years it has finally decided to give up and has gone into organ failure. He's now on end of life care, and the Doctors don't think he'll make it through the night.

My Mum, my Aunt and my sister are all with him, and have told me that there's no point in me getting a flight over as it will be too late. My sister held the phone to his ear, and I got to tell him how much I love him, which apparently made him smile in his sleep.

It breaks my heart that I will never see him again, as he means so much to me and the loss is almost unbearable. So this Blip is for my Granddad, for the space that you will leave in my heart forever. I love you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.