Dolly's down there

Despite my preference for Northern lads, guitars, drums and witty lyrics, one of my favourite songs is Jolene by Dolly Parton. When the opportunity to hear the song performed live came up recently, I was very excited to accept a spare ticket from my friend Sandra for one of Dolly Parton's shows in Glasgow this week.

The whole evening was lots of fun: marvelling at the uncharacteristic sunshine of a very hot summer's day in Glasgow; dining before the concert in a restaurant by the Clyde; watching all the fans in their Dolly gear (pink cowboy hats mandatory) take their seats in the stadium; enjoying a great show by the singer herself.

I have to say that until recently I would laughed like a drain if you had told me that I would one day attend and enthuse about a Dolly Parton concert - I am the woman with a Smiths poster pinned to her office wall, after all - but here I am, delighted to have heard Jolene performed live, and to have been witness to a marvellous performance by a very clever and talented woman.

Exercise today: morning loops in 27'20", sit-ups, weights, and walk to work (1 hour).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.