Scenes from a Farm

My buddy Bobby called me and said there was going to be a steam engine (train) coming through the little town of Byron. He lives right next door to the depot, and the engine was going to make a stop.

"It's scheduled to be here at 8 p.m."

We picked up Merrick, and headed over...15-20 miles away.

8 p.m., 8:15, 8:30, 8:45, 9 p.m. If it didn't arrive soon...we would be out of light. Then...just for good measure...it started to sprinkle.

Finally, I had to settle for old trucks, sheep, and kittens. That's Bobby holding the tiny cat. The burgundy truck is a 1948 International, and the darker truck is a 1948 Chevrolet.

It's too bad the train never showed. I wasted the effort of dressing up in my engineers gear...right down to the striped hat and red bandana.

Plus...I was going to yell..."ALL ABOARD!!!!"

P.S. On the way home...Merrick asked at least 5 times..."What's 'dat smell?" (I think he must have stepped in something.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.