Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Constant

For the last year or so, Wednesdays and/or Fridays have had a standing date attached to them. Spinning/Starbucks with one of my best friends! Sometimes we gather here twice a week, sometimes it is only once, but we have both been pretty good about making our little weekly ritual a priority. We have chosen this coffee shop because it is close to the gym where we meet to work out, SPIN CLASS to be exact. We are both addicted to spin and usually text one another the morning of to see if the other can make it that day. It is a very low pressure standing date and that is how we like it. If we can both make it...Awesome! If not, no problem. We always have the kids with us as it is their opportunity to have a "play date" at the gym daycare together. Hot chocolates and coffee's are the usual norm after spinning our hearts and guts out. I say guts because sometimes mid way through the class, I look over at Desi and we share a look of, "I am dying right now, why do we continue to do this to ourselves".

I call this blip constant because our little spin/coffee dates have been a constant in our lives for the last year, maybe even longer. A constant weekly opportunity to catch up, have some laughs, and share our thoughts. She is definitely one of my trees so I can share personal things with her without worrying about judgements or lack of interest in what it is that I am feeling the need to share.

She is a very special friend in my life and we met when we were both almost 8 months pregnant and feeling HUGE! I remember the day well. My husband and I went over to our friend's house on a Sunday afternoon just to visit and hang out. She and her husband were there, we were all introduced and proceeded to spend the entire afternoon chit chatting. She and I were each due within a week of each other and we pretty much bonded over the "horrible pregnancy symptoms" that no one ever seems to mention out loud. Well, for some reason we both felt instantly comfortable voicing some of these unmentionable things and the looks on our husbands faces said it all. We were crossing into the "embarrassing symptoms" area of conversation and they were pretty much just stunned. But in my mind, I saw it as being able to laugh with a really cool girl who was going through the same exact things that I was. It was the first pregnancy for each of us and I'll tell you this, I had an education that day along with tears and tears and more tears of laughter.

Tight friends ever since. When our boys were born, we started meeting weekly at the little baby library class. We just did all sorts of "Mommy stuff" that included the book classes, swimming lessons, little hawk soccer camp, coffee dates, play dates, and then our spin classes. And this is why I refer to this blip and to my friend as constant. She has been a constant friend. Extremely dependable. Very considerate and thoughtful. And hilarious. Hilarious always works for me!!!!!

When we walked into Starbucks today with our two four year olds and one two year old in tow (with her tutu on I should add), she looked out the window and said, "Hey, there's your blip. Look at the reflection of the sign sitting out there in the tree". I didn't even hesitate. I had my camera whipped out before everyone even sat down. She has known about my love for blip from the beginning and is developing quite the eye for the funky and quirky things that I look for in my daily quest for blip finding.

She is due with baby boy #2 in five weeks. We've nicknamed him "poppy" short for poppyseed which is how she always referred to him in the beginning. The girl is in her last trimester and is still keeping up in spinning class. Amazing. We have this little plan. When and if her water breaks while on the bike, we will grab our kids from their little class, pile into my car and head straight for the hospital. Secretly I am kind of hoping it happens this way. I love getting in on the excitement of things like this.

So, I dedicate today's blip to our weekend hangouts. Spin is coming to an end for her, due to her up and coming childbirth, so I felt that I needed to blip it today as our spin/coffee dates are now limited (for a little while). Oh and she wrote me the coolest little card the other day, "Just a little something to thank you for being you".

I love you......I know you read my blips everyday!

Happy Weekend blip land!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.