New Game

Today I discovered a new game to play with the Steller's Jays. There is a piece of driftwood that has been sitting out on the table on the deck for some time. It has a springy part that sticks out from the main body and that gave me an idea. I wedged a few peanuts in between the two parts. It didn't take the birds long to discover this. Soon they were taking turns grabbing the nuts and trying to pull them out from where they were wedged. They were so funny. Even though there were perfectly good nuts sitting on the table, easy to grab, they chose to try to get the nuts in the branch. I was laughing out loud by the time they had finished getting the last one out. Seems like we have a new game to play. Because it took awhile to get the nuts out and flapping of wings was required, I got some good flying shots of the jays. I chose this photo because of the great wing spread of the bird. I liked the mono version best.

I posted a few more photos on Chaikins of Bellingham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.