WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Minimalism

Unlike yesterday's blip, this isn't exactly a reflection of my day. As I was going out this evening and realised I hadn't yet taken any photos, I decided to take a few photos of the newly planted tubs of flowers outside our house -- always filled with colourful flowers for the summer season. Just as well I did as my evening offered few photo opportunities.

I went to Caunes for a concert of music mostly by Arvo Pärt given by an Estoniain choir, Vox Clamantis. If you're familiar with Pärt's music, you'll understand the title of my blip. It's amazing how so few notes can be combined to create music that fills your interior spaces with wonder. It's extra special hearing it sung by an Estonian choir I think, because it's part of their musical culture. There were just eight singers, about two per part, and often they stood singly around the church so that we were surrounded by skeins of ethereal music. Wonderful voices -- it was worth the long drive.

Edit: too late for googling when I wrote the above. Here's a representative sample of Pärt's vocal music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.