In California ......

........ and the adventure continues with the new rental car.

I returned to the airport this morning (in a taxi - grrrrrrrr - see yesterday's journal entry ) to collect the rental car.

I always book a convertible for my/our trips here but this was my first Chevy Camaro ..... shiny black and all-leather interior - extremely nice!
Drove it back to the hotel, went to put the roof down and that's when things started to go "not quite right" (again) ..... opened the catch, tried to activate the roof mechanism - the roof wouldn't budge, I tried everything, so tried to lock it back up - it wouldn't lock either, neither would the boot (trunk) open ..... tried to call Hertz but just kept getting automated messages sending me round and round in circles.

Made an executive decision and drove back to the airport (8 miles/13 kms) .... the only problem was I had to hang onto the roof handle to prevent the wind whipping it back (or worse, off) - 30 mph/50kph all the way with all the other vehicles whipping past me on the freeway ..... to make a long story short, the Hertz guys were brilliant .... two burly guys and one Camaro owner wrestling with the roof .... finally managed to lock the roof down but then we couldn't unlock it ...... they gave me another vehicle - a white one this time - newer and all in perfect working order.

Back to the hotel to find Mum somewhat worried as to what had happened to me but relieved to know it was all sorted out.

220 miles later and we are here in Red Bluff, California on our way north.

Bigger 'Frisco

This photo was taken after we crossed the Golden Gate Bridge in horrendously heavy traffic - took us over six hours to make the complete journey - so glad I am a car person and the Camaro is a great car to drive. On to Klamath Falls tomorrow.

~ Anni ~


NIKON D5200 : f/5.6 : 1/1250" : 85mm : ISO 100

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.