nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Morning

...and this was my view from my bivvy bag when I woke at approaching 5 am this morning. In reality it was a bit lighter than appears from this, but I wanted to show the moon. I could see mist in the valleys of the lower land to the left, but it was clear up here.

I slept for a bit longer and started dreaming that it was after 10 am and the hill was covered with walkers stepping over me, so when I woke I got up swiftly thinking it was much later than it was. The sun was respectably up but the air was a bit cold so I got going straight away, and walked over to Hangingstone Hill. Then I tramped about a bit in the (mercifully dry) Cranmere Pool, where the East Dart, West Okement and Taw all being their journeys. I was trying to find the letterbox without really knowing what it was (I have a little more idea now, but still need to look it up), but even after all the dry weather it became impossible, the gaps between the tussocks too large and the intervening space filled with sticky mud. I was very glad of my trekking poles.

I returned via Oke Tor, more or less following the Taw back to Belstone. I started to see a few people here. It seemed to be almost cheating, having two brilliant walks and a night out, squeezed into and evening and a morning, with plenty of the day left to head of to my next stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.