nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Nun's cross

I found myself in Princetown yesterday evening, camping at the Plume of Feathers for a couple of nights. This morning I went for a mooch around the (obviously new) visitors' centre, which had a bit about Arthur Conan Doyle's visit here when he was writing/research The Hound. I am something of a fan, so decided to spend some time visiting relevant places and re-reading the book. It was rather hard to imagine all that fog what with the wonderful sunshine!

After visiting the prison museum I headed out to walk later when it was cooler. I went south from Princetown with the aim of walking around Foxtor Mires, supposedly the inspiration behind the Great Grimpen Mire. This photo is approaching the mire, one of many impressive stones in the area and a deserted (but very nice looking) farmhouse, Nun's cross.

The sun is up for so long at this time of year that I totally lost track of time. It was a slow return, as I went off-piste and trudging through lumpy tussocky boggy ground is not quick. I even did a little compass work, but as I didn't really know what a 'Cist' was it was a bit difficult to know if I had arrived at one successfully or not.

When I eventually got on the road back to Princetown then sun was just disappearing behind the hill and I realised it was later than I thought. But as I read recently, the hills 'never close'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.