Northern Exposure

By Northern

Under siege

All weekend there have been a small group of gulls circling overhead. Every time we go out the alarm calls start and if we dare to venture near the byres or the shed they start swooping down at us. We assume that they have fledglings on the other side of the byre at the side of the field but we're not getting close enough to find out. Hopefully they'll be on there way soon.

I did have brief moment of fighting back when I was practicing with my tai chi spear (no point, just a 2m long pole). But decided to stop when I nearly hit one of the pesky birds.... suddenly realised that if I did bring one down I'd have to at the very least dig a hole and bury it or, more likely, spend the next few days trying to nurse it back to health.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.