Nellie Travels

By Padstowbabe

Babies

Tonight Nellie is getting an extra treat.

I put her out to the garden at 9:30 and usually she comes back in quickly......not tonight. When I went to investigate she was snuffling about under a bush. She neatly brought me....one by one....three baby birds! Very gently and without damaging them she brought them to me and placed them at my feet. The nest high up under the eaves had fallen in todays wind and rain and these three had fallen quite a distance. They were very wet and nearly dead. No sign of mum and dad....I think they think they are dead......not helped by the fact that they are unable or unwilling to make a sound.

I couldn't leave them out for the elements or cats to get so I'm hoping my animal minded friend will take them tomorrow since we are off to Cornwall on Friday.

Clever Nellie.....I am so proud of her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.