Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Wet and Wild and just plain Silly!

Today had to be a young blue jay. As soon as I went out on the deck this morning with my tea, I could hear the distinctive squawking of the blue jay fledglings up in the maple tree. I put out some peanuts, as I usually do, and the adults came down in a steady stream to pick up peanuts and deliver them to the screaming kids. Finally, apparently, the parents weren't moving fast enough and one of the kids came down and landed on the deck, screaming even louder, demanding to be fed. After a minute or two of being ignored, he hopped up on the suet feeder and fed himself! After the first kid came down, it seemed like it opened the door for all the other kids and for most of the day, they have been out farting around doing important bird-stuff on the deck and patio.

I frittered away several hours photographing them. In the hanging flower basket. In the shrub (having a fight with a branch). In the bird bath (here). In the cherry tree. Etc. I chose this shot because I've never seen one of the adult blue jays use the bird bath for bathing (they always drink from it, but never bath). However, the juveniles seem to love the bath and just splash around, flinging water everywhere. I was so close when this one landed in the water that I had to step back to get far enough away to 1) get some shots with Big Daddy, and 2) avoid being splashed. This photo will always make me smile and perhaps even giggle quietly to myself as I remember hos completely silly these young jays are - so carefree and curious.

I had some interesting things in the garden today besides birds, including a moth I've never seen before, a beautiful fritillary and some cool sweat bees. I posted a ridiculous number thirteen photos . Mostly blue jays with a few other birds and flying creatures for good measure.

Had fun yesterday with my friend Cathy - we sat out on the deck, in the shade and visited and watched the birds. Just what I needed to get my mind off of missing Hubs. And, 10 more sleeps until he is here again!

Thanks for continuing to like my hummingbirds - your comments, stars and hearts are so much appreciated. I'm glad you don't seem to be getting tired of the hummers because you are certainly going to see more of them...

Happy Tuesday, people.

Debbi

PS: and if you can't go a day without a hummie, look at last year's blips, one of my personal favorites.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.