OLD NEWCASTLE

Weather was fine and warm again so I decided not to stay at home but to get outdoors. I walked down to the village to get my repeat prescription. Then I got the bus to Newcastle.

Had a wander to search out a blip and took this shot of Collingwood Street - it's named after Admiral Lord Collingwood and was opened in 1810 in the year of his death. Admiral Lord Collingwood (1748 – 1810) took over command at the Battle of Trafalgar after the death of Admiral Lord Nelson.

The bar on the left of my shot is Revolution - a luxurious Barclays bank conversion with original 30ft ceilings, marble pillars and classic wood features. It is a Grade 2 listed building. It was my regular bank when I worked in Newcastle.

Look LARGE for wonderful architecture.

Did some shopping - bought some bird food in Wilkinsons, cat food in Waitrose, fruit in Tesco and 2 T Shirts in New Look ( sorry Lemmy - I know how you hate New Look ).

Got the bus home around 5.30pm. The bus only got as far as Front Street in my village and broke down - leaking water from it's " back end " and belching steam. So all the passengers had to get off. There was already another bus at the stop so we all assumed we could just get on that one and resume our journey. No such luck - this bus was also broken down. So most of the passengers - me included - just set off to walk. Not too far for me to walk but it was uphill and I had a heavy bag to carry. Still it was a little bit of extra exercise so I shouldn't grumble.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.