As my mood grabs me...

By AlisonM

Hat

Well I have had an enjoyable day messing about - first tidying up the studio (yet again) and then unpacking one of my new lights. I figured I'd get one up and running before I get the other one out!

Happily to say it was a doddle - unpack light, put it together, plug the receiver in, attach sender to the camera and all ready to go. So far so good - quality is good, stands are sturdy, the set seems to have everything I could wish for - although I'll be after a set of barn doors next :)

I played with the snoot today which was an extra to the kit - photographed everything from feathers to garlic to scalextric men and me. When trying to decide which to upload I figured that I'd do my self portrait as it's unlikely I'll repeat this one and wouldn't want to deny you the chance to gaze upon my physog! The great thing with using the snoot is that the background doesn't matter - it was just a light beige bit of fabric - also what I was wearing didn't matter - scruffy black stuff - you can't see any of it - yay....

Tomorrow I'll get the second light out and do battle with the softbox. I just couldn't get the rods to bend sufficiently to put it together but the instructions did say that it would be a bit of a challenge the first few times until the fabric stretched a bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.