Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Real Deal

Surprise! Not a bird or a bug or anything with wings or legs or eyes. I couldn't resist taking some photos with my little Nikon bridge camera while I was in NYC yesterday and today. I liked this one the best mainly because I love street art. And this is obviously not a piece of art commissioned by the City ... no, this is the real, raw deal, done by anonymous street "artists". It's getting harder to find things like this in the City - the grittier neighborhoods have steadily become more and more gentrified in recent years. I took this while Kura and I were out walking this morning in her neighborhood in Hell's Kitchen.

It was a wonderful getaway to the City - Kura and I had a wonderful time last night starting with cocktails on the Hudson, then dinner at a great neighborhood steak place and capped off with a bottle of French Rose on her roof, six floors above Manhattan. Good friends ... there is nothing better.

I posted a few night-time pics (not something I've really done much of) and a few other shots from this morning starting HERE on FLickr - eigh photos in total.. I had some fun this morning playing with the in-camera selective color program.

Today's photo is straight out of the camera. I liked the two garbage bags in the frame, although some photographers might prefer to clone or crop them out - to me they lend an air of authenticity to the image. What do you think?

Many, many thanks for your kind comments, hearts and stars on yesterday's hummingbird! You guys are the best.

Happy Saturday. (And six more sleeps until Hubs is home!!!)

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.