Garryvurcha Graveyard

A busy day! St Swithin held off his antics and we went into Bantry - Himself to deliver papers to the accountant and me to buy some sandals suitable for  a wedding. We're are coming across the water for a wedding in August and I fear my usual choice of footwear - crocs flipflops or Dr Martens sandals will not do.  There was a sale on, I bought some sparkly sandals! Not as bling as they sound and comfy. Himself also bought a new Henry hoover. Our last one has just given up the ghost but it did incredibly well - I reckon we had it for nearly 25 years and it's scooped up all sorts in its time from flood water to crumbly plasterboard. The new one is a bit more technical according to Himself, he's concerned whether I'll cope. I don't think I will. He might have to do all the hoovering in future.

I had time to mooch around Garryvurcha graveyard - newly restored and open to the public. It's an interesting place, dating from the late 18C but unusual in that it accommodated both Catholics and Protestants. Earls of Bantry are buried here in large ornate sarcophagi as well as un-named souls just remembered with a simple stone. I liked these old railings, once adorning someone's fine tomb but now resting easy. I think they're decorated with acanthus leaves. Garryvurcha by the way means Murphy's Garden which is rather nice.

Back home I was a bit miffed to find that I now qualify for OAP membership of Bird Watch Ireland - I'll just have to swallow my pride, for it's half the price.

I then went on to Clonakilty to collect the latest card order. All looking good except one image is somebody elses - not as nice as ours! A swim on the way back - blissful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.