Family drama

I was sitting out on the back stoop with my coffee and camera, watching the busy sparrows feed yet another brood. We have two active birdhouses on the back of the barn with two sets of sparrow parents on frantic feeding duty, seemingly around the clock. As I watched I noticed some birds, teens I suppose, recently expelled from the nest into the world, watching the food deliveries. Not long ago, they had to be pushed along and out so the next batch of eggs could take up residence.

Mama was busy feeding her greedy yellow-beaked young, ferrying bug meals by the minute. I saw her turn and look . Suddenly a teen sparrow appeared under the nest and tried to snatch the bug intended for the nestlings. She hooked her bird feet onto mama's wing and mama was pulled down backwards! Screaming and fluttering. Mama dispatched the teen and they both flew off. I was amazed and thrilled to catch the whole scene.

For the Record,
This day came in bright and dry with lovely air. Off to painting soon. I'm working on another road painting, this time a southwestern scene, at The Mittens. I was last there in 2007 on a road/air trip with our Swedes & T.

All hands healthy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.