Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

Louis

I went to a housewarming party at Kelly and Jon's place today. They've bought one of the new builds over in the recently developed Cranbrook (which always makes my brain do a burp, because I went to school in Kent at a place called Cranbrook). Because it's so new, it's not on Google maps, which caused a bit of chaos on the taxi ride over there - this made me realise how dependent we've become on new technology just to get around.

I spent a lot of time this morning making gluten-free, nut-free, vegetarian, milk-free food to take with me. I've been suffering a lot recently with intolerance-type symptoms and after a lot of trial and error, I probably have found the foods I should avoid. It's a real pain though, and has made it very hard to eat out. The bread rolls I made turned out more like scones, and the veggie burgers looked a bit like cow pats, but it was all tasty enough which is the main thing.

Lots of people were at the party, including this cheeky chappie. He's called Louis, and is the son of a lady I work with. He was being rather naughty and I didn't make things any better when I retaliated him spitting at me by throwing things at him, which of course encouraged him to throw things too. Oh dear.

I'd like to say that the behaviour of the party goers improved once Louis went home to bed, but that would be a lie!

If you click the photo for a year ago, you will see in the right hand side a chap called Alex, who has joined my research group. I took that photo before I'd ever met him, and only realised this week that I'd snapped him when I reviewed last year's Blips. It's funny how things turn out like that sometimes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.