Nelson dethroned!

Nothing like a squirrel drama to begin an overcast Sunday with spotty rain. We sat outside yesterday afternoon on our back patio for hours with our friend S, catching up. The usual furry suspects arrived for their peanuts, chippies, jays and Nelson. For the first time, Nelson hopped up on the lounge chair beside me and casually ate his peanuts. I thought that might make a fun quick blip for today...

So, we had breakfast, S drove off towards her rented cottage in Wellfleet for the coming week and I went out on the patio with a New Yorker magazine and my Kindle, armed with peanuts. It didn't take long for the chipmunks and jays to arrive, followed by Nelson. He took a few peanuts and then I put one down on the chair beside me. As I hoped, he hopped up and I had the camera ready. What I didn't see was the larger male squirrel following him until it jumped up on the chair as well! Needless to say, Nelson and I were SHOCKED! Nelson bailed and I scrambled to toss a peanut on the patio for the interloper. This guy , now called Dr. Slicer is also sporting a sliced right ear , joining the garden rabbit and Fyra, who have similar slices. Is it a club? What I want to know is how this country squirrel was bold enough to come so close to a human. Did Nelson being there make him confident, or is it just the lure of the totally irresistible peanuts?

For the Record,
This day came in overcast, cool, humid with spotty showers. A day of books and rest!

All hands healthy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.