One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

The Grim Reader

Photo taken and posted with the reader's permission

I may give out about my job from time to time.
But there are two very positive sides to it:

a- The monthly money transfer that lands on my account on the 22nd of the month at 11.15pm (I know, last week I was clicking the refresh button of my online banking page at regular intervals while pleading with the loan sharks* at the door, telling them that I needed all my fingers to work and that if they broke one - even a little one -I'd find it harder to repay them and that I swear I swear the transfer is going to get through anytime now, I swear I swear please not my fingers, please please, I swear, why don't you take one the kids instead?)

b- It involves 2 train journeys a day to and from the said work, allowing me two 40 minute sessions of quality reading time. Well, just reading time if you are unable to block out the sounds of the handkerchiefless commuters who sniff noisely, but luckily I can (block out the sound).

I have recently discovered that the library in Dún Laoghaire, although small from the outside, is packed with quality stuff and quality people.
There have a good supply of:
- librarians who can trace lost poems
- Haruki Murakami books
- World cinema DVDs (well, they also have the complete 4th season of Jeremy Clarkson's Top Gear, but I guess that it can be classified as world cinema. Thankfully not my world).


* My Platinum loan shark

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.