Nighttime Caller

For several weeks I have been bothered by a possum that visits in the night, waking me up with his thumping on the roof, scratchings and scufflings outside my bedroom window, and his awful guttural cry. I worry for Her Ladyship. If she is outside I get up to call her in. I’ve seen what a possum can do to a cat.

Last night he woke me again and I lay awake thinking what could be done about it. Humane traps are very expensive. And would they catch a curious cat?

This morning when I looked out to the road I saw that my problem was solved, rather messily too. There was nothing for it but to scrape him off the road and bury him in the garden. I was fascinated by this paw. I knew about the claws, but I was surprised at how hand-like it is. The back was covered in fur.

Brushtail possums (Trichosurus vulpecula) were introduced from Australia in the late 19th Century to establish a fur industry. Their numbers have exploded out of all proportion and they are now a major threat to our native trees and wildlife.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.